The Scot Who Loved Her by Eliza Knight

The Scot Who Loved Her (Scots of Honor, #4)The Scot Who Loved Her by Eliza Knight

Tracy’s rating: 5 of 5 stars

Series: Scots of Honor, #4

Release Date: August 16, 2022

When a scandal cuts short her London Season and her father sends her to Scotland until things settle down, Olivia Aston, the daughter of Viscount Halvellyn, couldn’t be happier! She loves Scotland and can’t understand why her father hates it so, especially since he is half-Scot. She looks forward to hunting, and riding and also hopes to visit her older sister Marian, who is currently in Scotland in an asylum after going mad. But she never expected to get caught up in the search for a traitor!

Malcolm Gordon, the Earl of Dunlyon and agent in HRM Secret Scots and is hot on the trail of a traitor when his path crosses with Olivia’s. He is on his way back to London with a suspect and a stolen manifesto from the traitor’s ship when he is attacked by a boar and in the process of killing it, is shot. He sees Olivia coming towards him with a gun and is sure she is the traitor or at least a spy, he pulls his dagger to hold her at bay and then passes out. Unable to let him die, she leaves him to get help. Olivia finds the groundkeeper’s son, David and together they tend his wound, she notices that the sole of the man’s boot is gone, as is his horse and her gun. Worried her dad will discover she was hunting in defiance of his orders, she asks David to take care of the man. But while David is gone to get a wagon, Malcolm wakes and realizes the manifesto is gone and so is his horse! When David returns, Malcolm learns Olivia’s name and knocks out David, steals his horse and shirt, and sets out for London to meet with his superior and to find Olivia. But finding Olivia means going into society, which means he will have to ask the last woman he ever wanted to see again for help – his mother. And so begins this wild adventure to find a traitor and if they survive, maybe even the love of a lifetime!

This is the final installment in the Scots of Honor series and WOW, readers are in for a treat! This well-written, fast-paced book has something for everyone; spies, traitors, sibling reunions, rumors of madness, great secondary characters, steamyish love scenes, shocking revelations, more than one twist that will keep you guessing until the very end, and finally a lovely HEA complete with an epilogue. All four books were so good that it is almost impossible to pick a favorite, but if I had to choose, I think this one would be my pick. This is the fourth and final book in the series, but it could easily be read as a standalone title, but do yourself a favor and read the series in order – you won’t be disappointed!

*I am voluntarily leaving a review for an eARC that I requested and was provided to me by the publisher. All opinions in this review are my own.*

Posted by

Avid reader (and reviewer) of historical romance.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s